Sport Clubs

sportclubswebsite

UMW sport clubs are student-run organizations that are open to all full-time University of Mary Washington students,  regardless of skill level. The clubs are advised by the Department of Campus Recreation and are designed to provide recreational, instructional, and competitive opportunities for students. All clubs are open to men and women unless otherwise indicated. Whether recreational or competitive, there’s a UMW sport club for everyone. The qualifications to participate in a sport club are little, but the value gained from this experience is great.

Contact Us!

The sport club program is run by the Graduate Assistant for Sports and Outdoor Rec who is a part time professional and part time graduate student.

If you’d like to speak with someone in Campus Recreation, please email campusrec@umw.edu or call 540-654-1732 during business hours.

Practice Schedules

UMW sport clubs practice an average of 2-3 times per week. The practice times are assigned by Campus Recreation and practice content is organized by the club leadership. Please contact a club officer for details regarding practices and attendance policies.

Fall 2018 Practice Schedules:
Color Guard Color Guard (Main Gym 1 & AUX) M, W Aux Gym 6-7:30, Sunday 4-530(Main Gym)
Men’s Volleyball SUN, TUES, THURS: 6:30-8pm (Main Gym 1)
Men’s Basketball MON, WEDS, FRI: 6:30-8pm (Main Gym 1)
Women’s Volleyball SUN, TUES, THURS: 6:30-8pm (Main Gym 2)
Women’s Basketball SUN, WED, FRI 630-8 (Main Gym 2
Fencing MON, WEDS, THURS: 8-9pm (Main Gym 2)
Cheer SUN: 6-7:30pm & TUES, THURS: 7-8:30pm (AUX Gym)
Women’s Soccer MON: 3:30-5pm & WEDS, FRI: 5-6:30pm (CRec Field 1)
Men’s Ultimate TUES, THURS, FRI: 3:30-5pm (CRec Field 1)
7v7 Football WEDS: 3:30-5pm (CRec Field 1)
Quidditch MON, TUES, THURS: 5-6:30pm (CRec Field 1)
Field Hockey MON, TUES, THURS: 6-7:30pm (CRec Field 1)
Baseball WEDS, FRI: 6-7:30pm (CRec Field 1)
Softball MON, WEDS: 3:30-5pm & THURS: 5-6:30pm (CRec Field 2)
Women’s Ultimate TUES, THURS, FRI: 3:30-5pm (CRec Field 2)
Men’s Soccer MON, WEDS, FRI: 5-6:30pm (CRec Field 2)
Women’s Lacrosse MON, TUES, THURS: 6-8pm (CRec Field 2)
Men’s Lacrosse TUES, THURS 8-9:30PM (CRec Field 2)
Swim MON, TUES, WEDS, THURS: 7-8:30pm (Pool)

Forms

For Club Officers
When running a sport club, there are a lot of formal processes for traveling, adding new members, and requesting vehicles. See a list of club leadership forms here.

For Club Atheletes
To participate in a sport club, there are a few required steps. See the sport club athlete forms https://orgsync.com/70708/forms/301967

Club Listings

Baseball Contact: telliot2@umw.edu
Men’s Basketball Contact: smirghan@umw.edu
Women’s Basketball Contact: Erika Mabry at emabry@mail.umw.edu
Co-Ed Cheer Contact: Tianni Sicam at tsicam@mail.umw.edu & Tara Adkins at tadkins@mail.umw.edu
Color Guard Contact: Caitlin Ward cward4@umw.edu
Fencing Contact: Emma Eichenberger at eeichenb@mail.umw.edu
Field Hockey Contact: Kortney Monks at kmonks@mail.umw.edu
Ice Hockey Contact: umwicehockey@gmail.com
Men’s Lacrosse Contact: Kyle Sargent ksargent@umw.edu
Women’s Lacrosse Contact: Anna Turcott aturcott@umw.edu
Quidditch Contact: Rachel Thayer rthayer@umw.edu
Men’s Soccer Contact: Yoel Kidane ykidane@umw.edu
Women’s Soccer Contact: Carolyn Rouse crouse@umw.edu
Softball Contact: Elisabeth Haas at ehaas@mail.umw.edu or Kristen Lundquist at klundqui@mail.umw.edu
Swimming Contact: Jack Hagn at jhagn@mail.umw.edu
Tennis Contact: marywashtennis@gmail.com
Men’s Ultimate Frisbee Contact: Ben Masse at bmasse@mail.umw.edu
Women’s Ultimate Frisbee Contact: Megan Acker & Jenna Morgan macker@umw.edu & jmorgan4@umw.edu
Men’s Volleyball Contact: Conor Martin at cmartin7@mail.umw.edu
Women’s Volleyball Contact: Haley Dillon & Colleen Forsman hdillon@umw.edu cforsman@umw.edu
7 on 7 Football Contact: Robert Yager ryager@umw.edu

Don’t see a club that fits your needs? Click here to learn how to start a new sport club or reinstate an inactive sport club.

How To Become a Sport Club Athlete

The following forms need to be completed before considered a sport club athlete.

1. Fill out the Student Athlete Form.
2. Complete the Baseline Concussion Testing on XLNTBrain if your club is required to get baseline concussion testing.
3. Complete the Medical History and Questionnaire form. The information shared will be kept sensitive and confidential and will only be used to assess or inform the department of any medical history.
4. Contact and inform the individual club leadership once you have received the Student Athlete Confirmation form to indicate that you are cleared to participate in practices and competition.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How many games will I play if I join a sport club?
A. The number of games played in an academic year are determined by the individual club leadership. Campus Recreation requires a club to participate in a minimum of 2 intercollegiate competitions in an academic year to be recognized as a sport club. Club leadership determines an athletes participation in a game or tournament.
Q. Where do the clubs practice?
A. Depending on the club, they practice either in the Goolrick main basketball gym, Goolrick Aux Gym, or the Campus Recreation Field.
Q. What do I do when I incur an injury?
A. Please contact the Campus Recreation staff and ask your club leadership to fill out the Injury Report form. Campus Recreation staff will direct you accordingly. In case of an emergency, please contact UMW Emergency at 540-654-4444.
Q. How can I contact the club leadership to learn more about the club?
A. Please visit the Sport Club portal to get all information related to Sport Clubs.
Q. Do I have to pay to play in a Sport Club?
A. Sport Clubs operate using allocations made available by Campus Recreation based on the club’s performance during the academic year, calculated with a point system. Dues vary per team and are collected by the club. Dues are intended to help the club cover any costs that cannot be covered with the allocations. Not all clubs have dues. Please contact individual club leadership to learn more about the cost of participating on that team.
Q. Do the clubs have coaches?
A. Sport clubs are run by students who serve in leadership roles, some of which who serve as coaches at practice or competitions. Certain clubs do have volunteer coaches who are not current students.